HUMBOLDT COUNTY, CA. BAIL BONDS
Contact Us: Bill Davidson Bail Bonds
COURTS Humboldt California
The Superior Court of the California County of Humboldt, is to provide for the resolution of disputes and the enforcement of the laws in a way that is appropriate to the needs of the community and society.
If an abusive person has broken the law, the police may choose to not arrest that person. If the officer doesn't arrest, you may ask the district attorney if they will charge the abusive person with a crime.
If the police take the defendant to jail, he or she may be released on bail within just a few hours. If you want to know when the defendant gets out of jail, call the jail. Also, some counties have a telephone notice system. Ask your local police department how to sign up.
ARREST BY WARRANT
If a police officer doesn't make an arrest at the time of the incident, the case can be assigned to a detective. If so, a police detective may interview people and collect more evidence. The police detective will decide whether to refer the case to the district attorney for review. The district attorney will view the report and decide whether to file charges.
If the district attorney files charges, a judge will sign a warrant for the defendant's arrest. If the defendant doesn't report to the court, the police will try to find him or her.
SMALL CLAIMS COURT is a special court where disputes are resolved quickly and inexpensively. The rules are simple and informal.
The person who sues is called the plaintiff.
The person who is sued is called the defendant .
Any mentally competent person who is 18 year old or older, or an emancipated child can file a small claim.
If you are not mentally competent, or under 18 years old and not emancipated, a judge must appoint an adult called a guardian ad litem to represent you in small claims court.
An individual cannot ask for more than $7,500 in a claim. Corporations and other entities cannot ask for more than $5,000.
You can file as many claims as you want for up to $2,500 each. But you can only file 2 claims in a calendar year that ask for more than $2,500.
A RESTRAINING ORDER is a court order that can
protect you from being physically abused, threatened, stalked, or harassed.
There are 4 kinds of orders in Humboldt County,you can request.
Domestic Violence Restraining Order,
Civil Harassment Restraining Order,
Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Order, and Workplace Violence Restraining Order.
Domestic Violence Restraining Order
You can request a Domestic Violence Restraining Order if, a person has abused you, and you have a close relationship with that person, or you are related or you have a child with the person.
You have to be more involved than just roommates.